Bryce Dessner (b.1978)


for: Chamber orchestra


Item no.635833
Author/ComposerBryce Dessner
Scope35 pages
Release year2015
Publisher/ProducerChester Music
Producer No.CH83688
27.80 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Delivery time approx. 2 weeks.
add to watch list


This is the full score of Aheym For Orchestra, composed by Bryce Dessner, best known as the guitarist of The National, but also an acclaimed composer in his own right.

If so desired, this work can be performed with Strings alone: the Wind and Percussion instruments are optional.

Composed in 2009 for the Kronos Quartet for their performance in Brooklyn's Prospect Park for the Celebrate Brooklyn! festival, Aheym (meaning 'homeward' in Yiddish) was directly inspired by his parents' migration to Brooklyn. The score in this edition was first performed by the London Sinfonietta at the Southbank Centre in London on the 9th of October 2012. The work lasts around 8 minutes and is filled with dynamic tempo changes, a mix of staccato and smooth playing and all-round excitement. It's a fantastic piece to play and the genius composition will keep audiences on their toes.