Jan de Haan (b.1951)

Musica Helvetica

Sample score

Concert and Contest Collection CBHA

for: Concert band

Score, Parts

Item no.679306
Author/ComposerJan de Haan
Dimensions23 × 30.5 cm
Duration11 minutes
Release year2012
Publisher/ProducerDe Haske
Producer No.DHP 1125266-010
159.00 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


In Wallberg, Switzerland, a competition for wind orchestras and brass bands is held every year. In addition to a hymn and a solo work, all orchestras must play a compulsory piece. Before the competition in 2012, the contract for this compulsory piece was awarded to Jan de Haan. The composition received the title "Musica Helvetica". This is a three-part concert work, the last two parts of which merge directly into one another. The first part, Musica Prima, is a virtuoso, lively opening with interspersed jazzy influences. The following part, Musica Sacra, forms a contrast to this, in which the main theme is beautifully worked out - the instrumentation here is extraordinarily colourful. The last part, Musica Alpina, is inspired by the varied landscape of Switzerland. With its witty structure it forms a worthy conclusion of this beautiful triptych.