Manuel de Falla (18761946)

Noches en los Jardines de España

Chamber Orchestra Version

for: Piano, orchestra


Item no.146763
Author/ComposerManuel de Falla
Scope92 pages
Duration23 minutes
Release year2007
Publisher/ProducerMax Eschig
Producer No.ME 8570
43.00 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Nights in the Gardens of Spain (Noches en los jardines de España), G. 49, is a work by Spanish composer Manuel de Falla. Falla was Andalusian and the music refers to the Hispano-Arabic past of this region (Al-Andalus). Initially intended as a set of nocturnes for solo piano, it took around 6 years to complete. By suggestion of pianist Ricardo Viñes, Falla ended up reworking the material into a great work for piano and orchestra in three movements, each 'describing' a different garden. Even though the piano part is elaborate and eloquent, it's rarely dominant, and the character of the piece itself is very descriptive. The premiere took place in April of 1916, at Madrid's Teatro Real, with the Madrid Symphonic Orchestra conducted by Enrique Fernández Arbós and José Cubiles as piano soloist. The work first appeared in print in 1922 in Paris in a two-pianos version, and the following year in its full orchestral form.


  1. En el Generalife
  2. Danza lejana
  3. En los jardines de la Sierra de Córdoba