Walter Aaron Clark

Enrique Granados

Poet of the Piano

Boek (softcover)

Item no.769608
Author/ComposerWalter Aaron Clark
Scope304 pages; 15.2 × 22.8 cm
Release year2011
Publisher/ProducerOxford University Press
Producer No.OUP 9780199813001
39.00 €
incl. VAT, plus shipping
Delivery time approx. 2 weeks.
add to watch list


Enrique Granados (1867-1916) is one of the most compelling figures of the late-Romantic period in music. During his return voyage to Spain after the premiere of his opera Goyescas in New York, a German submarine torpedoed the ship on which he and his wife were sailing and they perished in the waters of the English Channel. His death was mourned on both sides of the Atlantic as a stunning loss to the music world, for he had died at the pinnacle of his career and his late works held the promise of greater things to come. While Granados's tragic demise casts a pall over his life story, author Walter Clark reveals an artist of remarkable versatility and individuality and sheds new light on his enduring significance.


  • Foreword by Alicia de Larrocha
  • Preface to the Paperback Edition
  • Abbreviations
  • Map of Spain
  • Preludio: Renaissance
  • 1 A Born Pianist
  • 2 The Emerging Composer
  • 3 Works for Piano in a Central European Style
  • 4 Teacher, Conductior, Organizer
  • 5 Modernisme Catalan
  • 6 Catalan Works with Texts by Apeles Mestres
  • 7 La Maja de Goya
  • 8 Goyescas
  • 9 A World of Ideas
  • Epilogo: The Legacy of Ideas
  • Appendix 1: Genealogy
  • Appendix 2: List of Works
  • Notes
  • Bibliography
  • Index of Works
  • General Index