Marc-Antoine Charpentier (16431704)

Te Deum D-Dur H 146

Bärenreiter Urtext

for: Solo voices, mixed choir (SATB), baroque orchestra

Piano reduction (Urtext edition)

Item no.188253
Author/ComposerMarc-Antoine Charpentier
EditorHelga Schauerte-Maubouet
Piano scoreAndreas Köhs
Scope39 pages; 19 × 27 cm
Duration25 minutes
Year of origin1692
Release year2015
Producer No.BA 7593-90
16.50 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


The “Te Deum” (H 146) is unquestionably the best known composition of Marc-Antoine Charpentier (1643–1704), especially since its “ Prélude en rondeau ” was made the Eurovision signature tune. Although Charpentier set the “Te Deum” altogether four times, this is his only setting employing a “military band”, i.e. trumpets and kettledrums. This brilliant and magnificent piece was frequently played at victory celebrations and other occasions of public jubilation during the 17th century. Even today it is still ideal for festive church services and concerts.

The present edition stands at the forefront of scholarship and provides a complete, newly edited Urtext of Charpentier’s masterpiece


  • Texte et instrumentation des verses / Text and orchestration of the verses / Text und Instrumentierung der Verse
  • Prélude
  • Te Deum laudamus
  • Te aeternum Patrem
  • Pleni sunt coeli et terra
  • Te per orbem terrarum
  • Tu devicto mortis aculeo
  • Te argo quaesumus
  • Aeterna fac cum Sanctis tuis
  • Dignare, Domine
  • In te, Domine, speravi
  • Nomenclature et tessiture des voix (vers 1700) / Nomenclature and vocal range (ca. 1700) / Nomenklatur und Stimmumfang (um 1700)
  • Introduction
  • Notes pour l'interpretation
  • Rapport critique
  • Introduction
  • Notes on performance
  • Critical report
  • Einleitung
  • Aufführungspraktische Hinweise
  • Kritischer Bericht
  • Bibliographie
  • Texte latin original / Original Latin text / Lateinischer Originaltext
  • Traduction francaise de Jacques Bénigne Bossuet
  • English translation after Jacques Bénigne Bossuet
  • Deutsche Übersetzung nach Jacques Bénigne Bossuet