Jordi Cervelló

Il diavolo

for: Violin, piano

Piano score, solo part

Item no.771805
Author/ComposerJordi Cervelló
Scope32/12 pages; 23 × 31 cm
Release year2011
Producer No.B 3673
23.40 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


It is a work for violin and piano inspired directly by Paganini’s Capriccio No. 13, known as “La risata del diavolo” and one of the most renowned capriccios from the series of twenty-four composed by the celebrated Genovese violinist and composer.

In my version for violin and piano, I have singled out the two essential features of the work: the third notes on a double string that emulate the devil’s laughter, and the quick eighth notes that follow, all of it within a light and humorous chromaticism.

Il diavolo begins with a slow and fragmented but suggestive violin cadenza. It then follows the Allegro deciso, built on the two features mentioned above. In the central part, yet another violin cadenza of a similar character but which recalls the devil’s laughter more evidently. The Allegro deciso goes on up to a carefree and virtuosic finale.