William Byrd (c.15431623)

Psalmes, Sonets and Songs

The Byrd Edition 14

for: Mixed choir a cappella


Item no.139985
Author/ComposerWilliam Byrd
EditorJohn Morehen
Scope216 pages; 17.7 × 25.4 cm
Year of origin1611
Release year1987
Publisher/ProducerStainer & Bell
Producer No.STAINER -B376
85.00 €
Delivery time approx. 1–2 weeks.
add to watch list


Byrd himself described his last publication, Psalmes, Songs and Sonnets of 1611 as his ultimum vale. Nonetheless, some of the music was written earlier, and compiled or adapted to complete this collection of 32 pieces in three, four, five and six parts. Five of the 3-part pieces are settings of texts from the first English emblem book, Geoffrey Whitney’s A Choice of Emblems of 1586. Facsimiles of the relevant pages from Whitney are included.


  • The Eagle's Force
  • Of Flattering Speech
  • In Winter Cold
  • Whereat An Ant
  • Who Looks May Leap
  • Sing Ye To Our Lord A New Song
  • I Have Been Young But Now Am Old
  • In Crystal Towers
  • This Sweet And Merry Month Of May
  • Let Not The Sluggish Sleep
  • A Feigned Friend
  • Awake Mine Eyes
  • Come Jolly Swains
  • What Is Life Or Worldly Pleasure
  • Fantasia
  • Come Let Us Rejoice Unto Our Lord
  • Retire My Soul Consider Thine Estate
  • Arise Lord Into Thy Rest
  • Come Woeful Orpheus
  • Sing We Merrily Unto God Our Strength
  • Blow Up The Trumpet
  • Crowned With Flowers
  • Wedded To Will Is Witless
  • Make Ye Joy To God
  • Have Mercy Upon Me O God
  • Fantasia
  • This Day Christ Was Born
  • O God That Guides The Cheerful Sun
  • Praise Our Lord All Ye Gentiles
  • Turn Our Captivity O Lord
  • Ah Silly Soul
  • How Vain The Toils