Benjamin Britten (19131976)

Peter Grimes

An Opera in three Acts and a Prologue

for: Soloists, mixed choir, orchestra

Piano reduction

Item no.206472
Author/ComposerBenjamin Britten
TextMontagu Slater
Scope388 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Duration147 minutes
Year of origin1945
Publisher/ProducerBoosey & Hawkes
Producer No.BH 6600021
118.00 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Peter Grimes, an opera by English composer Benjamin Britten, revolves around the accusations faced by the titular character, a sailor, concerning the disappearance of his apprentice. The music is characteristic of Britten's repertoire, steering clear of abject dissonance yet with brief glimpses of twelve-tone experimentation and unique chord progressions.

Also included in this opera are the four Sea Interludes, the suite is frequently performed by orchestras achieving a popularity beyond its composer's intention.This edition contains the Vocal score with Piano accompaniment.


  • S,A,T,Bar; minor roles: 2S,M,2T,Bar,2B,2mimes; chorus
  • 2(=picc).2(II=corA).2(II=Ebcl).2.dbn-4.2.Dtpt.3.1-timp.perc(2):SD/TD/
  • BD/tamb/tgl/cyms/gong/whip/xyl/rattle-cel-harp-strings
  • Off-stage:organ-bells-tuba*
  • Dance band on-stage*:2cl-perc:cym/SD/BD-pft(ad lib)-vln.db