Johannes Brahms (18331897)

Symphony No. 1 in C minor op. 68

Urtext based on the new Complete Edition

for: Symphonic orchestra

Cello (orchestral part)

Item no.373759
Author/ComposerJohannes Brahms
EditorRobert Pascall
Scope16 pages; 25 × 32 cm
Duration45 minutes
Release year2003
Publisher/ProducerBreitkopf & Härtel
Producer No.OB 16100-23
7.50 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Minimum quantity: 2 copies
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Johannes Brahms completed his Symphony No. 1 in September and October 1876 in Lichtenthal near Baden-Baden. It was given its first performance in Karlsruhe on 4 November 1876 under the direction of Otto Dessoff. Brahms later personally conducted the work several times.

After a thorough revision of the second movement, the symphony was first published by Simrock in score, parts and piano reduction in 1877. The principal source for the present edition is the first print of the score as well as the autograph transmitted for three movements and scribal copies.

Scoring: bsn. – – timp – str


  1. Un poco sostenuto – Allegro – Meno allegro
  2. Andante sostenuto
  3. Un poco allegretto e grazioso
  4. Adagio – Più andante – Allegro non troppo, ma con brio – Più allegro