Johannes Brahms (18331897)

Hungarian Dances no. 1-21

mit einem Nachwort von Michael Struck

for: Piano 4 hands

Ensemble score (Urtext edition)

Item no.401514
Author/ComposerJohannes Brahms
EditorWalter Georgii
Scope85 pages; 31 × 23.5 cm
Release year2002
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 68
28.00 €
In stock. Delivery time: 1–2 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


To this day, Brahms’ Hungarian Dances number among his most popular works – although he didn’t even write them! As he expressly noted on the title page of the first edition, he “only compiled them for piano duet.” What he meant was that he had taken Hungarian dance tunes, fused them into a larger entity and then had the results published, first in an arrangement for piano duet, since the performance of such duets was extremely popular back then. The first two volumes containing the Dances 1-10 were printed in 1869, and two further volumes with the Dances 11–21 were added by Brahms in 1880.