Leonard Bernstein (19181990)


after Plato's "Symposium"
for Solo Violin, String Orchestra, Harp and Percussion
Reduction for Violin and Piano by the composer

for: Violin, piano

Piano score, solo part

Item no.303000
Author/ComposerLeonard Bernstein
Scope56/16 pages; 21 × 28 cm
Duration33 minutes
Year of origin1954
Publisher/ProducerBoosey & Hawkes
Producer No.BH 1000490
37.95 €
Delivery time approx. 1–2 weeks.
add to watch list


Fingering of the violin part by Isaac Stern

Premiered on September 12th, 1954, at the Teatro La Fenice in Venice, Italy:

  • Isaac Stern, violin
  • Isral Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Leonard Bernstein, conductor

"There is no literal program for this Serenade, despite the fact that it is resulted from a re-reading of Plato's charming dialogue, "The Symposium". The music, like the dialogue, is a series of related statements in praise of love, an generally follows the Platonic form through the succession of speakers at the banquet. The 'relatedness' of the movements does not depend on common thematic material, but rather on a system whereby each movement evolves out of elements in the preceding one." (Leonard Bernstein)


  • Phaedrus: Pausanias (Lento)
  • Aristophanes (Allegretto)
  • Erixymathus (Presto)
  • Agathon (Adagio)
  • Socrates: Alcibiades (Molto tenuto - Adagio - Allegro molto vivace)