Leonard Bernstein (19181990)

Symphonic Suite from On the Waterfront

Boosey and Hawkes Concert Band

for: Concert band


Item no.641173
Author/ComposerLeonard Bernstein
ArrangerJay Bocook
Scope56 pages
Duration20 minutes
Publisher/ProducerBoosey & Hawkes
Producer No.BHI 66296
58,50 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


The acclaimed 1954 film On the Waterfront starred Marlon Brando and garnered multiple Academy Awards, as well as a nomination for Bernstein's poignant and evocative music (his only film score). Using music from the film, Bernstein created this 20-minute suite which consists of six continuously flowing movements. Juxtaposing moments of tenderness with elements of cold savagery as depicted in the film, this is a monumental and distinctive addition to the symphonic wind ensemble repertoire.