Johann Sebastian Bach (16851750)

Concerto in D minor BWV 1060

Breitkopf Urtext

for: Oboe, violin, strings, basso continuo

Piano reduction, 2 solo parts

Item no.216546
Author/ComposerJohann Sebastian Bach
ArrangerKlaus Hofmann, Siegfried Petrenz
Scope22/7/10/6 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Duration18 minutes
Release year1997
Publisher/ProducerBreitkopf & Härtel
Producer No.EB 8662
16.90 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Here is a publication that springs from the spirit of Baroque transcription practice at its best. In our case, it also goes hand in hand with a reconstruction made with scholarly precision. As to the choice of the key, editor Klaus Hofmann decided against C minor, which the previous generation had preferred, and turned instead to D minor that Max Schneider had chosen back in 1921. The fruit of Siegfried Petrenz’s labor is an inspired, transparent "Clavier" reduction (EB 8662) that is amazingly faithful to Baroque practice. Musicians will un doubtedly welcome this arrangement, which boldly transgresses the conven tions of piano scores and presents a "new" work, the "Trio Sonata" in D minor BWV 1060.