Johann Sebastian Bach (16851750)

Magnificat Es-Dur BWV 243a

Bärenreiter Urtext

for: 4 soloists (SATB), mixed choir (SSATB), orchestra, basso continuo

Single part Organ

Item no.247135
Author/ComposerJohann Sebastian Bach
EditorAlfred Dürr
Scope24 pages; 25.5 × 32.5 cm
Duration30 minutes
Release year2002
Producer No.BA 5208-67
22.50 €
incl. VAT, plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Bach's original setting of the Magnificat in E-flat major written for Christmas vespers in 1723 includes four inserts, placed at the end of the score, to give a dramataic representation of the Nativity. Although the later D major version is most often performed today, this earlier E-flat major version stands on its own merits with many attractive features which disappeared with the downward transposition.

Scoring: Soprano solo (2), Alto solo, Tenor solo, Bass solo, Mixed choir: SSATB, Trumpet (3), Timpani, Oboe (2) (Treble Recorder (2)), Violin (2), Viola, Basso continuo


  • Magnificat
  • Et exsultavit spiritus meus
  • Einlagesatz: Vom Himmel hoch da komm ich her
  • Quia respexit humilitatem
  • Omnes generationes
  • Quia fecit mihi magna
  • Einlagesatz: Freut euch und jubiliert
  • Et misericordia
  • Fecit potentiam
  • Einlagesatz: Gloria in excelsis Deo
  • Deposuit potentes
  • Esurientes implevit bonis
  • Einlagesatz: Virga Jesse floruit
  • Suspecit Israel
  • Sicut locutus est
  • Gloria Patri