David Blackwell (b. 1961), Kathy Blackwell

Cello Time Joggers

A first book of very easy pieces

David Blackwell et al. - Cello Time JoggersDavid Blackwell et al. - Cello Time JoggersDavid Blackwell et al. - Cello Time JoggersDavid Blackwell et al. - Cello Time Joggers
Musical EditionsMusic lesson book, online playback
Item no.1355893
Author / ComposerDavid Blackwell, Kathy Blackwell
Levelvery easy
Scope32 pages; 23 × 31 cm
Release year2022
Publisher / ProducerOxford University Press
Producer No.9780193563308


Cello Time Joggers is a landmark book in the popular Cello Time series, which is enjoyed by students and teachers all over the world. It contains Kathy and David Blackwell's trademark attractive and engaging compositions that appeal to learners of all ages. Lively original pieces, traditional tunes, and easy duets take the learner from open strings to all fingers down in finger pattern 0-1-34.

Appealing and exciting play-along tracks, with live band, are available on major streaming platforms or to download from a companion website. Stylish piano and cello accompaniments are also available in separate books.

Kathy Blackwell, B. Mus. (Hons.), LTCL, LGSM, studied music at Edinburgh University and continued with post-graduate studies in music at the University of Oxford. Kathy is a string teacher with many years experience of teaching violin and viola. She developed her teaching ideas at the coalface in both Music Services and in private practice, working with groups large and small and in one-to-one lessons. She was a strings consultant for the ABRSM Music Medals initiative, a new assessment specifically designed for students taught in groups, and a contributor to the accompanying book All together! Teaching Music in Groups (ABRSM, 2004). Her teaching experience has led her to co-author Fiddle, Viola, and Cello Time, published by Oxford University Press, with her husband, David. Kathy and David have presented workshops in the UK, Australia, Hong Kong, and Singapore.

David Blackwell studied music at Edinburgh University, after which he pursued a career in music publishing, first at ABRSM and then at Oxford University Press. He is co-editor of OUP's In the Mood: 17 Jazz Classics for Choirs and Carols for Choirs 5, and has published a number of single choral arrangements. He is co-writer with his wife Kathy of OUP's award-winning string series, Fiddle, Viola, Cello Time, and String Time, which have twice won the MIA award for Best Educational Publication. He now works as a freelance music editor, composer and arranger. In 2017 Kathy and David Blackwell received two awards: from ESTA UK in recognition of their exceptional services to string teaching, and from the Oxfordshire Music Education Partnership for significant contribution to music education in Oxfordshire and beyond.


  • Bow down, O Belinda
  • Under arrest!
  • Someone plucks, someone bows
  • Down up
  • Hill an' gully rider
  • Fast lane
  • In flight
  • Lift off!
  • Katie's waltz
  • Copy cat
  • Rhythm fever
  • Here it comes!
  • Tap dancer
  • So there!
  • Rowing boat
  • Ally bally
  • C string boogie
  • Travellin' slow
  • Tiptoe, boo!
  • Lazy cowboy
  • Off to Paris
  • City lights
  • Clare's song
  • Phoebe in her petticoat
  • Peace garden
  • Summer sun
  • On the prowl
  • Knock, knock!
  • Ready, steady, go now!
  • Happy go lucky
  • Happy go lucky
  • Algy met a bear
  • Listen to the rhythm
  • Cattle ranch blues
  • In the groove
  • Stamping dance
  • Walking bass
  • Chopsticks for two
  • Runaway train
  • Distant bells
  • Lazy scale
  • The old castle
  • Rocking horse
  • Patrick's reel
  • Calypso time
  • Cello Time
  • Scales and Scaley Things!
  • Super sprinter
  • Wave machine
  • Ring my number
15.00 €
incl. VAT, plus shipping
In stock. Delivery time: 1–3 working days (Germany)
add to watch list

Recently viewed

Verband deutscher MusikschulenBundesverband der Freien MusikschulenJeunesses Musicales DeutschlandFrankfurter Tonkünstler-BundBundes­verb­and deutscher Lieb­haber-OrchesterStützpunkt­händ­ler der Wiener Urtext Edition

© 2004–2023 by Stretta Music. Order and buy sheet music online.

Your specialist for all kinds of sheet music. Online shop, sheet music, music scores and play along for download, books, music stands, music stand lights, accessories.