+49 (0) 9303 98171-0 en-com 0
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)

Complete Organ Works 3

Fantasias and Fugues
Breitkopf Urtext Edition

Musical EditionsMusic score (Urtext edition), online media
Item no.577763
Author / ComposerJohann Sebastian Bach
EditorPieter Dirksen
Scope184 pages; 32 × 25 cm
Release year2016
Publisher / ProducerBreitkopf & Härtel
Producer No.EB 8803


Although the "fantasia" was already considered as old-fashioned around 1700, this genre exerted a particular fascination on the very young Bach - he had since relocated to Köthen - and the experienced composer as well.Volume 3, the latest installment in the Complete Organ Works, gathers together all transmitted organ fantasias by Bach, the fragments of the fugues belonging to them and all individual fugues as well. They include, for instance, the Fantasia in C BWV 570, undoubtedly the master’s oldest free organ work.

The most notable works in this edition are the celebrated Fantasia in g minor BWV 542/1 and the Fuga in g BWV 542/2. Did Bach actually intend a combination of the two pieces as a joint composition? This and other intriguing questions concerning versions, sources and genre history are examined by editor Pieter Dirksen in the introduction and comments, which contain a synopsis and a wealth of transposed and ornamented versions of the works which supplement the edition on the enclosed CD-ROM.


  • Fantasia C-dur BWV 570
  • Fantasia c-moll BWV 1121
  • Fantasia c-moll BWV 562/1
  • Fantasia c-moll BWV 562/1 (Frühfassung)
  • Fantasia und Fuga c-moll BWV 537
  • Fantasia G-dur BWV 571
  • Fantasia g-moll BWV 542/1
  • Fuga g-moll BWV 542/2
  • Fantasia h-moll BWV 563
  • Fuga C-dur (nach Albinoni) BWV 946
  • Fuga c-moll (nach Bononcini) BWV 574
  • Fuga c-moll BWV 574b (Frühfassung)
  • Fuga c-moll BWV 575
  • Fuga d-moll BWV 539/2
  • Fuga G-dur BWV 577
  • Fuga g-moll BWV 578
  • Fuga A-dur BWV 949
  • Fuga A-dur (nach Albinoni) BWV 950
  • Fuga B-dur ("Erselius") BWV 955
  • Fuga B-dur BWV 955a (Frühfassung)
  • Fuga h-moll (nach Corelli) BWV 579
  • Fantasia C-dur (Fragment) BWV 573 (im Anhang)
  • Fuga c-moll (Fragment) BWV 562/2 (im Anhang)
  • Praeludium d-moll BWV 539/1 (im Anhang)
  • Fuga g-moll BWV 131a (im Anhang)
  • Fuga g-moll BWV 542/2 - Frühfassung und Varianten-Synopse (online)
  • Fuga g-moll BWV 542/2 - Fassung in f-moll (online)
  • Fuga B-dur BWV 955 - verzierte Fassung (online)
  • Fantasia a-moll BWV 561 (online)
  • Fuga C-dur BWV Anh. 90 (online)
  • Fuga D-dur BWV 580 (online)
  • Fuga G-dur BWV 576 (online)
27.80 €
plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (de )
add to watch list

© 2004–2022 by Stretta Music. Order and buy sheet music online.

Your specialist for all kinds of sheet music. Online shop, sheet music, music scores and play along for download, books, music stands, music stand lights, accessories.