Sofia Gubaidulina (*1931) is one of the most important Russian composers of the generation after Dmitri Shostakovich. This encouraged her to continue to follow her own path, which was against the Russian style of its time, the mid-20th century.

Typical for her works are the use of the bayan, a chromatic button accordion, and the inclusion of religious themes.

Because her music was not in the spirit of Soviet Socialist Realism, the performance of her works was banned in the 1960s and 1970s.

But at the latest the premiere in 1981 of “Offertorium”, her first Violin Concerto, sealed her success, especially in the West. Since then Sofia Gubaidulina, together with Alfred Schnittke and Edisson Denissow, has been a contemporary Russian composer of worldwide renown.

Gubaidulina has lived in Germany since 1992 and is a member of various academies, including the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science, which is responsible for the annual Academy Awards. She is now an honorary professor at the Kazan Conservatory, where she first studied.

Notenblätter von Sofia Gubaidulina

Sofia Gubaidulina (*1931) ist eine der bedeutendsten russischen Komponistinnen der Generation nach Dmitri Schostakowitsch. Dieser ermutigte sie dazu, weiterhin ihrem eigenen Weg zu folgen, der sich gegen den russischen Stil seiner Zeit in der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts wandte.

Typisch für ihre Werke sind die Verwendung des Bajan, eines chromatischen Knopfakkordeons, und der Einbezug religiöser Themen.

Weil ihre Musik nicht im Sinne des Sozialistischen Realismus der Sowjetunion war, wurde die Aufführung ihrer Werke in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren verboten.

Spätestens die Uraufführung 1981 von `Offertorium´, ihrem ersten Violinkonzert, besiegelte aber ihren Erfolg vor allem im Westen. Sofia Gubaidulina ist seitdem, zusammen mit Alfred Schnittke und Edisson Denissow, eine weltweit anerkannte zeitgenössische Komponistin Russlands.

Gubaidulina ist seit 1992 wohnhaft in Deutschland und Mitglied verschiedener Akademien, inklusive der Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science, die für die jährlichen Oscar-Verleihungen zuständig ist. Am Konservatorium von Kasan, wo sie zuerst studiert hatte, ist sie heute Ehrenprofessorin.