Notes from composer Michael Haydn

Composing pairs of brothers are rare in the history of music. The fact that Michael Haydn (1737-1806) today stands so much in the shadow of his brother Joseph Haydn, who was five years older than him, is not due to the - supposedly - lower quality of his music, but simply to the confusion of names.

Michael Haydn spent almost his entire professional life in the service of the Archbishop of Salzburg and did not go on trips through which his name could have become known throughout Europe - as his brother Joseph or his Austrian colleague Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart did.

Today Michael Haydn is known above all for his church music. His German High Mass Hier liegt vor deiner Majestät is one of the few mass hymns of classical music in vernacular language besides the German Mass by Franz Schubert.

With his works for vocal quartet, Michael Haydn is regarded as a pioneer of the male voice choir. His composition students included Carl Maria von Weber and Anton Diabelli.

Further Links to works from Michael Haydn:

Noten vom Komponisten Michael Haydn

Komponierende Brüderpaare sind selten in der Musikgeschichte. Dass Michael Haydn (1737–1806) heute so sehr im Schatten seines fünf Jahre älteren Bruders Joseph Haydn steht, liegt nicht nur an der – vermeintlich – geringeren Qualität seiner Musik, sondern schlicht und einfach an der Namensverwechslung.

Michael Haydn verbrachte nahezu sein gesamtes Berufsleben in Diensten des Salzburger Erzbischofs und ging nicht auf Reisen, durch die sein Name europaweit hätte bekannt werden können – wie es etwa sein Bruder Joseph oder sein österreichischer Kollege Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart getan haben.

Heute ist Michael Haydn vor allem durch seine Kirchenmusik bekannt. Sein Deutsches Hochamt Hier liegt vor Deiner Majestät gehört neben der Deutschen Messe von Franz Schubert zu den wenigen volkssprachlichen Messgesängen der Klassik.

Michael Haydn gilt mit seinen Werken für Vokalquartett als Wegbereiter des Männerchors. Zu seinen Kompositionsschülern gehörten Carl Maria von Weber und Anton Diabelli.

Weiterführende Links mit Werken von Michael Haydn: