Sheet music and downloads by composer Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

The Hamburg-born composer, pianist and organist Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) is often regarded as the musical link between classical and romantic. Through his systematic approach he has had a lasting influence on the conductor's function as leader of the orchestra.

With the lyrical piano pieces Lieder ohne Worte he created a new genre that is entirely in the spirit of the Romantic period. The drama music for A Midsummer Night's Dream is one of the most frequently performed works by Mendelssohn Bartholdy - due not only to the well-known Wedding March it contains.

Mendelssohn was the grandson of the Jewish philosopher Moses Mendelssohn and comes from a wealthy family that was also enthusiastic about music and culture. The family converted to Christianity and adopted the name Bartholdy as their second surname. Although he was held in high esteem by the experts throughout his life, his Jewish origins made it difficult for him to be adequately appreciated after his death, which was already fired up in 1850 by Richard Wagner with his antisemitic pamphlet "Judaism in Music".

Mendelssohn was, however, one of the first to advocate the cultivation of German music. As a conductor or pianist, he frequently performed composers of the Baroque, above all Bach and Handel, and in 1843 he founded the first music academy in Germany, the Leipzig Conservatory.

His life was characterized by an unbroken creativity; he composed, conducted and worked tirelessly. The Mendelssohn catalogue raisonné (MWV) today lists 750 works. His sister Fanny Hensel was his closest confidante.

Further Sheet Music by Felix Mendelssohn:

Noten und Downloads vom Komponisten Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Der in Hamburg geborene Komponist, Pianist und Organist Felix Mendelssohn (1809–1847) wird häufig als musikalisches Bindeglied zwischen Klassik und Romantik angesehen. Durch sein systematisches Vorgehen hat er die Funktion des Dirigenten als Orchesterleiter nachhaltig beeinflusst.

Mit den lyrischen Klavierstücken Lieder ohne Worte schuf er eine neue Gattung, die ganz im Geist der Romantik steht. Die Schauspielmusik zum Sommernachtstraum gehört zu den meistgespielten Werken Mendelssohn Bartholdys – das liegt wohl nicht zuletzt auch im darin enthaltenen Hochzeitsmarsch begründet.

Mendelssohn war der Enkel des jüdischen Philosophen Moses Mendelssohn und stammt aus einer wohlhabenden und zugleich musikalisch und kulturell begeisterten Familie. Die Familie konvertierte zum Christentum und nahm den Namen Bartholdy als zweiten Familiennamen an. Obwohl er zeitlebens von der Fachwelt hochgeschätzt wurde, erschwerte nach seinem Tod seine jüdische Herkunft seine angemessene Würdigung, was schon 1850 durch Richard Wagner mit seinem Pamphlet "Das Judenthum in der Musik" befeuert wurde.

Mendelssohn war aber einer der ersten, der sich für die deutsche Musikpflege einsetze. So führte er als Dirigent oder Pianist häufig Komponisten des Barock, allen voran Bach und Händel auf und gründete 1843 mit dem Konservatorium in Leipzig die erste Musikakademie in Deutschland.

Sein Leben war geprägt von einer ungebrochenen Schaffenskraft; er komponierte, dirigierte und arbeitete unermüdlich. Im Mendelssohn-Werkverzeichnis (MWV) sind heute 750 Werke verzeichnet. Seine Schwester Fanny Hensel war dabei seine engste Vertraute.

Weiterführende Links mit Noten von Felix Mendelssohn: